Our network

AETN's 'Ghosts, Blood and Zombies 2' to premiere Oct. 30 | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

AETN's 'Ghosts, Blood and Zombies 2' to premiere Oct. 30
AETN's 'Ghosts, Blood and Zombies 2' to premiere Oct. 30

CONWAY, Ark (AETN) — Arkansas’s young filmmakers show off their spooky sides in “Ghosts, Blood and Zombies 2: A Student Selects Halloween Special” premiering Friday, Oct. 30, at 10 p.m. on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN).

Chosen from submissions to “Student Selects” – an annual event that showcases the work of Arkansas’s kindergarten through 12th grade filmmakers – “Ghosts, Blood and Zombies” features the most frightening and hair-raising films for Halloween.

Student films chosen for this special broadcast include:

  • “The Gift,” Springdale High School – A group of high school students find a box labeled “do not open,” and, true to form, they open it. Soon, strange things begin happening to the three students. The film was written by Zach Burton, Spencer George, Libby Herman and Russell Dezner. Diego Malagon and Jonathan Alvarado edited the film. Bulldog TV Production includes: Alvarado, Malagon, Alfredo Jorge, Brenda Pina, Gesselle Magana, Russell Denzer and Libby Herman.
  • “The Darwin Theory,” Har-Ber High School (Springdale) – “The Darwin Theory” is the story of survival for two brothers as the impending apocalypse changes the world that they know. The film was directed by Brandon Buccheri and edited by Wil Church, Brandon Buccheri, Cory Wood and Joseph McCulley.
  • “The Lost Woods,” Nettleton High School – Three young people try to find an occult group rumored to be living deep in the woods. They plan to document what they find for a class project. The film was co-directed by Grayson Hall and Adam Brown and edited by Brown. Andy Warren served as videographer.
  • “Dead End,” Har-Ber High School – An apocalypse survivor fights to keep his will to live. The film was directed by Andrew Lisle and filmed and edited by Lisle and Robert Crisp.
  • “Vasudeva,” Fayetteville High School – After a young woman on a camping trip wakes to find her companion has vanished, she is rescued by a kind family. But, is everything as it seems in this psychological thriller? The film was written, directed and scored by Joey Largent and edited by Scott Wood. Director of photography was Nolan Foster.
  • “She's in There,” Nettleton High School – Two high school students try to find a backpack in a darkened auditorium. Separated, strange sounds and visions lead to each student’s disappearance. The film was directed by Valerie Tamez. Craig Miller served as videographer and editor.

“Ghosts, Blood and Zombies 2: A Student Selects Halloween Special” will repeat Saturday, Oct. 31, at 1 a.m. and Sunday, Nov. 1, at midnight.

“Student Selects” is an annual event that showcases the works of K-12 students throughout Arkansas. Student filmmakers can submit their films and videos to AETN for possible broadcast and streaming on aetn.org, and graduating seniors may compete for Thea Foundation scholarships in screenwriting, directing, editing and cinematography.

A complete list of film credits and submission guidelines can be found at aetn.org/studentselects. All entries for 2016 must be submitted by March 18 in order to be considered for scholarships.

AETN supports, highlights and distributes young filmmakers handiwork in cooperation with the Thea Foundation, the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival, the Arkansas Film Commission and the Arkansas Motion Picture Institute.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit aetn.org, or follow the AETN blog at aetn.org/engage. AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).